EXCHANGING WORDS WITH DR. MADHU VAJPAYEE

Standard

         Dr. Madhu Vajpayee- the writer was born somewhere in those hospital corridors where she has spent the last two decades of her life. Witnessing life at such close quarters pushed her to capture its enigma in her words and slowly it became her passion. After writing several scientific papers and chapters in books, this book is her second journey in literary world, the first being SEEKING REDEMPTION.
Having done her graduation, MBBS from King Georges Medical University (KGMU), Lucknow she went ahead to pursue her post graduation, MD from AIIMS, New Delhi. She was a consultant at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi and was associated with management of patients living with HIV/AIDS. She is now settled in Melbourne, Australia with her family, where she is devoting most of her time to writing, the passion that she couldn’t pursue earlier because of the demands of medical profession and commitment it requires.
When not creating stories, Madhu enjoys reading and travelling.

image

1. Writing for you is ?

   Passion

2. When did you realise that you must write ?

    As long as I can remember but until my first book Seeking Redemption happened, I was writing mostly for myself as a food for my soul.

3. What was the first ever thing you have written ?

    I wrote a poem when I was around 15 or 16 year old.

4. How do you manage your work ?

   Previously I was working full time. It was quite difficult for me to find time for writing in my busy medical profession. But now I only work part time and that’s why I can manage to find time to write.

5. How much time did you spend on research before starting with ” Seeking Redemption “?

To be honest, I never spent even a single minute on any research. It was a spontaneous attempt at writing something formal for a bigger audience. Belonging to medical profession and living and experiencing the issues that the book highlights made my job easier.

image

6. What made you choose this title of the book ?

  Very interesting question! I really took a long time in deciding this particular title. Now why I chose this because in my book, my characters want to be redeemed from the
curse that have been thrust upon them because of the caste based reservation system. They are actually seeking redemption from such retrogressive system that threatens to destroy their future.

7. What challenges did you face while writing this book ?

  I was working full time when I wrote the first draft. Time constraint was the biggest limitation. Besides that I did experience writer’s block, uncertainties and fear of failure.

8. At what time do you prefer writing ?

Not any particular time! I write whenever I feel like. It’s a spontaneous activity rather than any forced routine.

9. When is your next book coming?

Most probable by early next year.

10. Message for budding authors?

Never give up. We are bigger than anything that can happen to us. Write because you love it. Not because you want to become author like everybody else. To get opportunity to be a published author will just be a coincidence and perhaps also your good fortune!

image

CONTACT DETAILS :

* Website/Blog: http://madhuvajpayee.blogspot.in/

* Twitter: https://twitter.com/MadhuVajpayee

* Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/madhu.vajpayee

* Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7349761.Madhu_Vajpayee

* Mail id: madhuvajpayee@gmail.com

BOOK LINKS :
* http://www.amazon.in/Seeking-Redemption-Madhu-Vajpayee/dp/938431515X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445843068&sr=1-1&keywords=seeking+redemption

* http://www.flipkart.com/seeking-redemption-english/p/itmdpgxvfchyfffs?pid=9789384315153&ref=L%3A-7443402891902171581&srno=p_1&query=seeking+redemption&otracker=from-search

Nidhi

Leave a Reply

